Who am I?


Friends like to joke with me that I'm an old soul. On Friday nights, you can find me under a blanket with a cup of tea, surrounded by companion animals, and reading about popular culture. Our family moved a lot while I was growing up, and because I was always the "new kid" in school, I have several hometowns/homestates: I was born in Alabama and spent the first three years of my life in Georgia before moving to the northwoods of northern Maine, where I spent a childhood consumed by Paul Bunyan lore and maple syrup. I then moved across the country to the Rocky Mountains of Wyoming, where I went to high school and University among the sagebrush, with beautiful snow-capped mountains always in the background. All of these places shaped me in significant and important ways, and allowed me to experience viewpoints and ways of life in several regions of the country, from New England to the Mountain West. As an academic, I found my passion through studying human enthusiasm across the world, from environmental enthusiasts in Tenerife to trekking culture in the Himalayas of Nepal. In my free time, I continue to explore human enthusiasm through watching video game Let's Plays on YouTube and Twitch, attending enthusiast conventions such as Gen Con in Indianapolis, and playing involved board games that put Monopoly to shame. Despite my affinity for cooler weather, I currently live in Knoxville, Tennessee, USA with my partner and six rescued animals (4 dogs and 2 cats). I take part in animal rescue (both "farmed" and domestic) and rehabilitation, and I love a good snowstorm.

Find me on social media